Much like many rural locations, Caistor, a lovely market town today, had experienced tremendous poverty. Over 180 destitute people were housed in the Victorian Caistor Workhouse at its peak in the 1880s.
The workhouse was transformed into a facility for people with learning difficulties in the 1930s. The location was transferred to the National Health Service in 1948, where it was given the name Caistor Hospital.
The outdated complex eventually closed in 1990 and was left to deteriorate, until Cannon Kirk transformed the site into the picturesque homes we know today.
On November 19, 2022, a memorial honouring the past of the Romans Walk area was revealed. Funded by Cannon Kirk, the memorial features a large piece of masonry salvaged by a local resident from the old workhouse. In the foreground is a cross rescued by Cannon Kirk from the derelict chapel during the redevelopment.
Local leaders, including West Lindsey District Council Chair Angela Lawrence and Caistor Mayor Jon Wright, attended the occasion. Occupants of Romans Walk and employees from the former Caistor Hospital were also present.
Afterwards, attendees relocated to the Caistor Arts & Heritage Centre to trade memories of working at the Hospital over tea and cake.